Size does not matter

This is a quick design that I did for the architectural firm that I work for.
I was given two days to design this bus shelter for Franschoek.
My heart really swooned when I was briefed, as Franschoek is my favourite place in South Arica. It’s charm and beauty is indescribable and incomparable. Working with such a gorgeous context makes designing anything in the area all the more enjoyable and invigorating.

Conceptually, I drew my inspiration from the landscape of Franschoek, in particular, the patterns of the vineyards, the colors of the fynbos and sunsets. The tradition of building and architecture in the area was also a strong influencing factor in the design.
The design draws upon this history of Cape Dutch Architecture and contrasting colours in a subtle and minimalist way.

With smaller structures like bus shelters, there is always opportunity to design wild, wonderful and unconventional charms. My brief, however, restricted this unbridled freedom as it called for something more ‘simplistic’ and manageable in budget- ‘money, money, money, must be funny in a rich man’s world’ hey! 😉

sc *

20120425-184837.jpg

20120425-185224.jpg

20120425-185256.jpg

20120425-185315.jpg

One thought on “Size does not matter

Leave a Reply

